Curtain rises on Bengal classical music fest today

Putting an end to all the hypes and speculations, the fifth edition of the Bengal Classical Music Festival begins at the Dhaka Army Stadium in the capital this evening.
Organised by Bengal Foundation, presented by Square and supported by BRAC Bank Ltd, the five-day festival is dedicated to Syed Shamsul Haq.
Finance Minister Abul Mal Abdul Muhit, MP, will inaugurate the festival at a gala opening ceremony as chief guest.
Cultural Minister Asaduzzaman Noor, MP, Harsh Vardhan Shringla, high commissioner of India to Dhaka, Anjan Chowdhury, managing director of Square Toiletries and Selim R F Hossain, managing director of BRAC Bank Ltd will attend the ceremony as special guests.  Abul Khair, chairman of Bengal Foundation will deliver opening speech at the event.
In the inauguration ceremony, Sharmila Banerjee’s troupe Nrityanandan will perform Manipuri, Bharatnatyam, Odissi and Kathak dances to Tagore songs, composed and directed by her.
Dr L Subramaniam will hold the audience spellbound by playing violin while V Girija Devi will render khayal at the event tonight.
Pravin Godkhindi (Flute) and Ratish Tagde (Violin) is scheduled to play a duet while Aashish Khan will be playing sarod on the occasion.
V Ashwini Bhide Deshpande and Sanjeev Abhyankar will present a Jasrangi duet at the carnival this evening.
The festival, which has globally been recognised as the greatest of its kind, is scheduled to remain open from 07.00pm to 05.00am until November 28.
The fifth Bengal Classical Music Festival will feature the illustrious V Madhavi Mudgal, Priyanka Gope, Rahul Sharma, Mohammed Shoeb, Purbayan Chatterjee, Ulhas Kashalkar, Ronu Majumdar, U Rajesh, Shashank Subramanyam, Dr. Prabha Atre, Anindo Chatterjee, Uday Bhawalkar, Sanjoy Bandopadhyay, and Rashid Khan.
The music buffs will also have the privilege of witnessing the performances of Munmun Ahmed, Nilesh Ranadive, Jayateerth Mevundi, Yogesh Samsi, Subhankar Banerjee, Ranjani, Gayatri, Tejendra Narayan Majumdar, Ajoy Chakrabarty, Shiv Kumar Sharma, Kumar Mardur, Kushal Das, Arati Ankalikar, and Hari Prasad Chaurasia.