Press Release – Day 4

Press Release
The 4th night of the Bengal Classical Music Festival 2016 ended with spectacular performances
The 4th night of the Bengal Classical Music Festival 2016 opened on 27th November at Army Stadium, Dhaka.
The first performance of the night was a spectacular dance recital by Munmun Ahmed and her troupe. They performed Kathak. Aishwarya Rahman, Anisha Irin Ahmed, Avantika Afroze, Lava Biswas, Maahima Mehnaz Anam, Maisha Maliha Khan, Masum Hossain, Md. Samim Asraf, Nusrat Fatima Khan, Parimita Rahman, Sharmin Shoheli Khanom Shoma, Sharmishtha Sonalika Sarker, Shishir Bindu Biswas, Soudamini Mazumder Paridhi, Uzma Samad, Zerin Tasfih Reshma, Kazi Anisa Zaman, Roopkotha Chowdhury were among the troupe members. Tanjila Karim Shorolipi provided vocal support, while Moniruzzaman was on flute; Shunondo Mukherjee on Sarod, Oshit Biswas on Esraj, Subir Thakur on Tabla. Aparajita Mustafa and Wahiduzzaman were on vocal recital. The light arrangement was done by Thandu Rayhan. The troupe started their performance by paying tribute to the master with “Bhinno Shoroj”. Following which, they performed Kathak in Tritaal. During the second part, Mumun Ahmed performed a dance number with the thumri “mori gagariya kaheko fori re Shyam”. Enam Ahmed Chowdhury, the former Chairman of Privatization Commission, handed over the crest to the artiste.
The 2nd performance of the night was tabla by Nilesh Ranadive. He performed Teen taal on the table; Milind Kulkarni accompanied him on harmonium. The artistes received crests from former ambassador Tariq Karim.
The third performance of the night was Khayal by Jayateerth Mevundi. He performed Raga Suddha Kalyan, Adana and Natyageet. He was accompanied by Ajinkya Joshi on tabla and Milind Kurkarni on harmonium. Hedayetullah Al Mamun, the Secretary for the Ministry of Commerce, handed over the crest to the artiste.
The fourth performance was another table rendition by two renowned artistes: Pandit Yogesh Samsi and Pandit Subhankar Banerjee. Ajay Joglekar accompanied them on the harmonium. They performed teen taal. The artistes received crests from Ismat Ara Sadique, State Minister of Public Administrations.
Following that performance was a vocal rendition by Carnatic singer duo Ranjani and Gayatri. The sisters performed Nattai-Saraswati, Raga Panto Barali (A composition by Tyag Raja); raga Mukhari and Raga Khamaj (Ragam-Talam-Pallavi), Adi talam. The duo finished their performance with Vithoba Chala. Accompanying them were Charumathi Raghuraman on violin; K Sai Giridhar on Mridangam and Chandrasekara Sharma on ghatam. H T Imam, Political Advisor of the Honorable Prime Minister handed over the crest to the artistes.
Pandit Tejendra Narayan Majumdar came next with his ethereal sarod rendition. He started his performance with Raga Gunji Kanada. After that he performed Alap-jor-jhala and gatt in Vilambit Teental. Finally he played Jogiya Kalingra. Along with this guru of Bengal Parampara Sangeetalay, Pandit Yogesh Samsi was on tabla. The night’s curtain fall with amazing Khayal rendition by Pandit Ajoy Chakrabarty. He performed Raga Bilaskhani Todi. He also performed raga Kuntala varali. He finished his rendition with a bhajan in Raga Bhairabi. Soumen Sarkar was on tabla with him, while Abhijit Kundu was on tanpura and Ajoy Joglekar on harmonium. The festival memento was handed over to the artiste by Abul Khair, Chairman of Bengal Foundation.
Sir Fazle Hasan Abed, KCMG, Founder & Chairperson of BRAC, will be present at the Chief Guest at the closing ceremony on the fifth day of the Bengal Classical Music Festival on Monday, 28th November 2016. Distinguished academician and Professor Emeritus Anisuzzamn will preside over the closing ceremony. Dr. Gowher Rizvi, the honorable International Affairs Advisor to the Prime Minister, will attend the ceremony as a special guest. Also present on the occasion as special guest will be Annisul Huq, the honorable Mayor of Dhaka North City Corporation and Mr. Mohammad Sayeed Khokon, the honorable mayor of Dhaka South City Corporation.
The 5th and last day of the festival will witness the following performances: Vocal presentation by students of the Music Dept., University of Dhaka; Sitar by students of Bengal Parampara Sangeetalay; Santoor by Pt Shiv Kumar Sharma; Khayal by Kumar Mardur ; Sitar by Pt Kushal Das; Khayal by Arati Ankalikar; Flute by Pt Hari Prasad Chaurasia.
Stalls at the festival include both book stalls as well as vendor stalls offering food and beverage. The stalls are offering ICE Media magazines and books published by Bengal Publications, Daily Star Books and Prothom Alo. The food stalls include North End Coffee Roasters, Lucknow, Chaap Station, Bistro E and Paturi. Aranya, Bengal Café, the Bengal Film Development Forum and BRAC Bank ATMs are also present on the festival grounds. Journalists should be pleased to find access to free WiFi.
Square Group is presenting the Bengal Classical Music Festival as the title sponsor. BRAC Bank is supporting the event as the main sponsor. Maasranga TV is the broadcast partner, while ICE Business Times is the media partner. Radisson Hotel Dhaka is the hospitality partner of the event, and Square Hospital is the medical partner. Blues Communications is in-charge of the event management. The festival is being presented in association with Bengal Digital, Mango and Bengal Parampara Sangeetalay. Perfect Harmony of Singapore is the strategic partner.
For the last four years, the Bengal Classical Music Festival has been the largest classical music event in the subcontinent showcasing performances from over two hundred classically trained singers and dancers. With the goal to popularize and perpetuate the practice of classical music, this festival will go on till November 28th. The event this year is dedicated to the memory of versatile author and poet Syed Shamsul Haq (1935-2016).
Photo Courtesy: Bengal Foundation.

thumbnail From Left: Yogesh Samsi and Pandit Tejendra Narayan Majumdar

thumbnail Pandit Ajoy Chakrabarty

thumbnail Ranjani and Gayatri

thumbnail Pandit Ajoy Chakrabarty

thumbnail Pandit Tejendra Narayan Majumdar